ORGANIC CORNSTARCH, GMO free
Certified organic (which is always GMO free)
Qualities: Cornstarch is comprised of long chains of starch molecules which unravel and swell when heated in the presence of moisture and this swelling action (gelatinization) is what causes the thickening to occur. Because it only contains carbohydrates (no protein) cornstarch is a gluten free product. Due to its capacity to absorb moisture from condensation, cornstarch is often used as an anti-caking agent.
Common use: Cornstarch is used for many culinary, household, and industrial purposes. In the kitchen, cornstarch is most often used as a thickening agent for sauces, glazes, soups, casseroles, pies, and other desserts. It is is often preferred to flour as a thickener because the resulting gel is transparent rather than opaque, is relatively flavorless, and provides roughly two times the thickening power. In order to avoid any clumping, corn starch should first be mixed into a room temperature liquid and then brought to a full boil before cooling in order to allow its complete thickening action.
In contrast to starch, Cornstarch should not be frozen as freezing will break down the gelatinized starch matrix and the mixture will become thin after thawing.